sweetofstyle

Style is knowing who you are, what you want to say and not giving a damn – Gore Vidal

Uniforms Don’t Steal Style

Last summer as I got ready to find a new job, I decided that I would create my own uniform. I figured it would be a great way to save time, money and the hassle of wondering if I wore that purple skirt or goldenrod cardigan last week or Monday or too soon to wear it again!

Inspired by Janelle Monae, I decided to make my uniform colours black and white! Typical reactions range from a long face when I mention ‘my own uniform’ to a made up face when I mention  black and white! Let me be honest. Originally, I was skeptical of the whole black and white ensemble – cause I’ve just always thought of it as a waiter’s uniform, however, when I saw how well Janelle made it work, I figured it would be easy to pull off 😉 Furthermore with all the style options I didn’t see how I could lose.

I got a few good stuff. Pencil skirts, pants, military style button down shirts, white button downs for school children that were on sale at $8 (cuz I’m small like that), and a fabulous military style jacket suit!

SEE?! BLACK AND WHITE AINT SO BAD - ESPECIALLY WITH A SPLASH OF RED!

I wore my black suit to the second interview. But when I landed the job, it turns out the company had its own uniform (which I’m not exempt from wearing) and the theme is always green! Green is NOT among my favourite colours. So I set about turning stone to bread!

Below are the main colours we’ll wear this year and some stuff I’ve done to maintain Úbercute uniform status!

THERE ARE ONE OR TWO OTHER BLOUSES, BUT THIS IS THE DESIGN THAT WAS CHOSEN FOR THIS YEAR

Of course, since the uniform is a constant, I’ve got to accessorize!

# 1 – I often wear this super sweet skinny belt I got at EXPRESS last summer. It matches perfectly with the shades of beige in the blouse. (Secret* – They sent me a coupon, so I only paid $14 – I tingle with delight for a good bargain)!

PATENT BOW ADJUSTABLE SKINNY BELT

#2 – I experiment much with my make up.  I recently tried a green smoky eye and even though I didn’t have all the tools to pull it off flawlessly, I was quite pleased with the result!

THE GREEN SMOKY EYE - AT THE END OF A LONG DAY!

#3 – I found some cute trinkets that work really well with the uniform colours, so I copped those!

NECKLACE THAT COMPLEMENTS THE BLOUSES VERY WELL

#4 – Of course a chic handbag is icing on the cake! I love wearing heels to work, but I also love this duo! My lovely brother got me the handbag which was on my wish list for Christmas one year and then I picked up the shoes at Target last summer. They are such a great match!

BIG BUDDHA BAG AND MOSSIMO SUPPLY CO PEEP TOE FLATS

Extra Tip – When wearing uniforms it helps if they fit well. So If they don’t, take them to a tailor or seamstress and adjust so that they fit well and you look smart wearing them!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Uniforms Don’t Steal Style

  1. I’ve been wearing a uniform of all black for many years. After working in the record industry for a long time, it became standard. I still wear all black today, it’s just easier, goes with every last thing in my closet and I’m ready to go. Nice post.

  2. Pingback: We Should Kick the Kick Pleat Out the Door « sweetofstyle

Leave a Reply

