sweetofstyle

Style is knowing who you are, what you want to say and not giving a damn – Gore Vidal

My New Frames

Sooo, I’m about to be the proud owner of a new pair of glasses!

I’ve had the glasses I currently use since 2007. They were a really nice pair of Guess frames but they’ve gone through a lot. They’ve been stepped and sat on, scratched, broken, glued together and the whole nine yards.

Me in the center wearing my Guess frames

In recent times though, I felt as though my vision had become worse, so I visited my opthalmologist today. My right eye is the same as it was, but the left one has gotten a bit worse (more carrot juice for me).

My favourite carrot juice. Tastes great and is organic πŸ™‚

For years now, I’ve wanted a pair of cat eye frames, because I simply adore their unique vintage look and think they’re a fabulous classic piece! They also put me in mind of a naughty librarian… shh! :O

I saw these show stopping frames in last Sunday’s Gleaner (prominent Jamaican newspaper) and was hoping to get a pair from the company that provided the frames for the shoot. Unfortunately, however, that wasn’t possible because I need my insurance to pay for most of the cost of the glasses and the card expires Friday. The company that has the cool frames is 4 hours away, so yea – it wasn’t gonna happen.

Show stopping cat eye frames from Eye Q optical in Kgn Jamaica

But, my doctor did have a few nice frames. This is the closest I could find to what I desired and I love it!! I’m really liking the colour and the little gold toned temple covers πŸ™‚ And although they’re not as dramatic as I’d have liked, they still exude a nice vintage quality. I think they’ll look super cool with my hair in a bun or chignon πŸ˜‰

Not as dramatic as I’d have liked, but these’ll have to do – and I love ’em!

The receptionist liked a pair of Baby Phat frames, and even though I am just not a fan of Baby Phat, I have to admit they were nice. But I had been dreaming of the cat eye look for too long and could not; would not be swayed! To my surprise, the cat eye frames were more expensive than those from babyphat :O

How do you like the soon-to-be-mine new frames? Do tell me what you think!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “My New Frames

  1. I’m a huge carrot juice fan too. I drink the Bolthouse Farms brand.

    Those frames are adorable! I love the color and shape.

Leave a Reply

