sweetofstyle

Style is knowing who you are, what you want to say and not giving a damn – Gore Vidal

Inspiration for the Cut

In her video Bossy, there’s something about the way Kelis rolls out of bed, looks in the mirror, casually decides she wants to change her hair, grabs a pair of scissors and starts snipping away! It must be total and complete liberation, spontaneity and confidence that would make you get up and ‘change it up,’ just like that. And I LOVE IT!

A clip from Kelis' Bossy video

A clip from Kelis’ Bossy vide

I am no stranger to that and have cut my hair on three occasions. Two out of three times it was done as spontaneously as the above example πŸ˜‰

I’ve Β long loved Kelis’ trendsetting hairstyles and had my eye on one particular do since 2011.

the hairstyle that started it all!

the hairstyle that started it all! 

I just got around to it for my birthday last month after drawing additional inspiration from Rihanna

 

Loved this Rihanna look!

Loved this Rihanna look!

and some lady whose photo I saw in a local newspaper.

Photo I saw in a local paper

Photo I saw in a local paper

In order to achieve the style I needed, I had to get a perm, but I love my new hair so much that I don’t regret it! Since I got it done, I’ve gone back and had them shave the sides right down, because it’s way easier to handle when it’s low like that. And I’ve gotten hella compliments! Ching πŸ˜‰

What do you think?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Inspiration for the Cut

  1. Sophia Samuels on said:

    it’s a beauty, it fits you (compliments your features), it has flair, spontaneity is the name of the game. One must always strive to keep up appearance

  2. I agree! Looks lovely. And those were my inspirations too but wasn’t brave enough to go that short again this year πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

