sweetofstyle

Style is knowing who you are, what you want to say and not giving a damn – Gore Vidal

I need me an LBD

…or three.
and just in case you didn’t guess, I am making reference to the quintessential little black dress! For a while now I’ve realized that my scanty wardrobe could use one, but reality hit me like a thunderbolt a few weeks ago when I had to go to dinner and had nothing to wear!

An LBD would have been perfect. After all, it is said that when Coco Chanel debuted the LBD in the 1920’s, the editors at Vogue claimed it would become the uniform for the modern woman of taste. And as I pondered my dilemna; wondering what shoes might go with what dress and whether or not that dress was simple and elegant enough, it dawned on me that, had I been in possession of an LBD, the nightmare I was enduring would have been an easy fix!

In the end I wore a flowing long halter-top dress with flat sandals and a cap-sleeved cardigan (because dinner was held at a beach gazebo). I looked nice (I was told by a few admirers later), but I really would just have preferred a little black dress!

575932_10200441106124575_1435057777_n

The Beach Gazebo

I do believe I will have one made! I am greatly inspired by what has been called the ‘definitive LBD’ – of course – Audrey Hepburn’s dress in Breakfast at Tiffany’s!

Audrey Hepburn in her iconic LBD!

Audrey Hepburn in her iconic LBD!

I want my dress to have that same neck line; slightly lower in back and cinched (or slightly gathered) waist. Mine though, will stop just below my knees in a pencil design (as pictured below)!

untitled

The pencil dress: A modern favourite!

I’ve also been slowly developing quite an interest in vintage dresses, and think that this year (beginning in summer) will see me sporting one or two – throwing in an LBD can’t hurt 😉

For Example ;)

For Example 😉

P.S. Not only was dinner delish!, the ambience was simply divine! I snuck in a little foodie pic of the first course, which was a tempura shrimp cocktail. It was delectable and a very big plus for me was that every herb &/or flower in the dish was edible and organic 😉

Tempura Shrimp Cocktail

Tempura Shrimp Cocktail

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

